BRIANW

By BRIANW

Devil's Haircut!, Aylesford

A barber's pole is a type of sign used by barbers to signify the place or shop where they perform their craft. The sign, in fact, dates back to the Middle Ages as a staff or pole made up with a helix of coloured stripes. Often it was red and white in many countries, but usually red, white and blue in Japan and the United States. The pole was either stationary or rotated, depending upon the use of an electric motor. Today's shot is of the barber's shop window in my village.

My choice of song is, of course, the brilliant Devil's Haircut by Beck:

 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aa3rBVb3v4g

Being a Friday we had to watch Top of The Pops and this time it was the Big Hits from 1984 and 1985. I regard it as the zenith of brilliant pop music (it's what I grew up with in my teenage years) and these two shows were a perfect encapsulation of that time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.