Grumpy Old Man

By Maurice1948

One Life

There was certainly some heavy rain overnight - I heard it hammering on the deck and water was streaming down the drive when I peeped into the spare bedroom to have a look. 

'Office' work this morning, including the next installment of my blog for Scotland's Gardens Scheme.  I find it so frustrating when I see that a plant I've known for so many years has suddenly become something else! My plant for next month is the fern Blechnum fluviatile,  a dwarf New Zealand fern that I've been growing for a long time. It has a variety of common names, including Water fern, Ray water fern, Star fern, Creek fern, Crown fern, kiwikiwi, kiwakiwa, kawikiwa and kawakawa - this is why I always recommend calling a plant by its Latin name. Unfortunately,  I now discover that it's to be known as Cranfillia fluviatilis ! Maybe I should copy the garden centres and refer to it simply as "Fern", or "Green plant"!

After lunch we went down to the Phoenix cinema in town to see 'One Life', the story of Nicky Winton who was responsible for rescuing 669 children from Czechoslovakia just prior to the invasion of the country by Nazi Germany. A very special film - certainly the most moving film I've ever seen. Do see it if you have the chance.

My Blip today is of the cinema. Formerly 'The Highland Theatre', it sadly closed in 2010 - from lack of use, I imagine. The nearest cinema was then 100 miles away. A group of dedicated locals raised funds to buy it and it was re-opened as the 'Phoenix' in 2012 as a registered charity.  Well-named!

Wind getting up now - Storm Isha on the warpath, I suppose!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.