SimtuCrostines

By SimtuCrostines

Small Fenscape With Grey?!

(20th and 21st blips are switched around because chaos)

I sketched a photo of a painting I'd seen at the London Art Fair: "Fenscape" by Alan Reynolds, 1952. It transfixed me while I was scanning a wider group of abstract paintings from a similar period. Probably because it's dark overall, with high black/white contrasts, unusually symmetrical and a bit runic, which made me want to read it (what is that arrow in the middle all about?!). Also, why does there appear to be a Roswell Grey in the middle?! I moved on without answers. I gleaned from his other work that he does like seed heads though...

I visited my parents on the way back from London, then watched another Aki Kaurismäki film, "The Man Without a Past". This one was much more wordy than "The Other Side of Hope", which I watched a couple of weeks ago, so I enjoyed listening to the Finnish language. It sounds oddly like a crisp version of Greek, probably because of all the "k"s. It's all shot either at night or on cold-looking, bright days which brings out the colours of the sky, sea and shipping containers!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.