Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

This Moose Belongs to Me

Another book by Oliver Jeffers…
We collect Moose, including books,  at the island but this is one from 2012 that I hadn’t known about until I was looking up Oliver Jeffers.    About a boy called 
Wilfred who thinks he has a pet moose and discovers other people think the same.  Maybe nobody OWNS it.    What struck me is the art of course.    Many of Jeffers’ whimsical characters live on the pages of stunning landscape paintings of Serbian painter Alexander Dzigurski who came to the US in 1941 and painted the sea and western landscapes.     Reading about the artists , on the copyright page, there is this statement:   “ The art for this book was made from a mishmash of oil painting onto old linotype and painted landscapes and a bit of technical wizardry thrown into the mix here and there. “      I  so LOVE that! 
 
cover in the extra

Adding  this link to this wonderful blog ..it’s where I got many fantastic suggestions for kids books over the years. (but I missed this!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.