The Wren

By TheWren

A little low

We have had so little rain recently that I thought I would pop up to Loch Turret reservoir to see how it was looking. As you can see it is rather low, but not worryingly so as it is very deep . If you can look on large you will see a couple of gulls nesting on the stone promontory and this is how the water level was in February. You can just make out the usual water level mark on the stones. The scarred slope on the right of the frame is the one where the estate carried out some controlled heather burning back in the early spring when the loch was still frozen. Although not frozen today the water looked cold and was quite choppy; it was very windy up there with very little bird life, just a few gulls enjoying the thermals - I could have done with those too ! However thankfully the signs of summer were definitely apparent with all the wild flowers cascading down the slopes of the dam their heads nodding defiantly against the wind.

There were quite a few sheep on the slopes of the Loch so i couldn't let the dogs off the lead and eventually started the drive back down, coming across this pair who looked up as i stopped the car and just seconds later clumsily got to their feet and moved away, probably a bit wary of the barking from Bruce who had suddenly spotted them. I nearly used them for the blip but the lamb's face is not quite clear of his mum's head, and anyway I wished to show the water level which is why I went up there in the first place!

Later I was busy in the garden tidying up and putting pots together into larger containers so that it is easier for my friends to water them while I am away next week. They will have enough to do with watering the tomatoes and cucumbers which are growing well in the greenhouse!

I am picking my son up in Fife at crack of sparrow tomorrow morning before driving down, with both dogs, to my daughter's in Reading so heaven knows what i will find to blip. Certainly nothing taken first thing as it will be enough for me to get out of the door with dogs and luggage in time!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.