This is the day

By wrencottage

After the storm ...

… comes the wildlife!

We escaped Storm Isha lightly in this corner of the UK, with just a few twigs and small branches from the oak tree scattered over the lawn, and a couple of fallen roof tiles on the patio. The bird table (and its resident wren) was safe where I’d laid it down, but one of the two bird feeders from it, that I’d put on a small table, had blown down on to the ground beside the bird table. When I came downstairs this morning, a squirrel was helping himself to the seeds from it which, for once, were freely available from the supposedly squirrel-proof bird feeder! (see extras)

Our fox was prowling around, and there were lots of redwings in the garden too. Everywhere seemed to be teeming with wildlife, all of whom were no doubt relieved that the worst of the storm was over and they could safely go out to find food.

But the highlight of the morning for me was seeing my first blackcap of the winter. Isn’t she gorgeous? She’s eyeing up the fat balls in the feeder on the small table, and stayed there long enough for me to grab my camera and take a few shots. I couldn’t stop smiling for ages afterwards. (She looks best in large.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.