Maureen6002

By maureen6002

An unexpected sunset

 
G’s dropped me off at West Shore where I’m looking for a sand dune shot for Mono Monday. This takes me on the Coastal Path above the beach, walking across the top of marram grass covered dunes before descending to the beach itself. This is not my usual route, and the conditions - whilst exhilarating - are far from ideal. The wind is wild, gusts making it hard to stand let alone take photographs, and I’m blasted by both rain and sand blown off the beach. At least the rain is short lived. 

It’s dark and grey, close to 4.30 so the light is fading fast. I’m surprised to see the gap form on the clouds, first behind the rocky headland of Penmaenmawr, then opening up wider to reveal blue sky. The sun has now moved from a golden glow to a full blown fireball lighting up the clouds. It looks unreal both in colour and intensity - another of these surreal weather events characterising the last week. 

I never make it to my dune shot; I’ve had enough of wind-buffeting and sand-blasting, and by now the technicolour sun has pushed the idea of mono from my head.  So today’s blip is an elevated view across the beach towards the fireball, and if you look down at the sand, you can see just how the wind is blowing it in waves. It’s an iPhone shot again, but I really couldn’t hold my camera steady in the wind so all my Canon shots are blurred! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.