Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

M

*(SEE END OF THIS POST)

Blipped for Ilja's TinyTuesday theme today, 'an imprint or stamp'.  Many thanks, Ilja.

I was given this printer's block a long time ago.  As you can see, it's made of wood with a sheet of white metal (steel?) and a coating of copper.  The engraved capital is infilled with fanciful floral decoration - exactly like the one in the book it's currently lying on.  I was actually astonished by just how similar they were - the block and the imprint.  I don't know how old the block is.  Not ancient, even though the copper surface is quite worn.  I'd stick my neck out and guess 18th/19th Century - the book is definitely no later that 16th Century and see how little has changed!  Fascinating if you're interested in such things.

The day's been another horrid wet-grey-windy one.  Vile for walking and taking pictures, it's made me quite irritable.  Oh dear!  Try harder, M..

Enjoy your evening, dear peeps  xx

PS: Something weird's going on with my blip account - I can see your comments under the 'comments' icon, but not on my journal page and I can't reply to you either. So I shall stagger on, but I'm so sorry I can't chat properly ;((
NO, SORRY, NOW DISCOVER I CAN'T COMMENT OR HEART/STAR YOURS AT ALL. HAVE TRIED TO ASK BLIPCENTRAL TO LOOK AT THIS BUT HAVE NO IDEA IF MY MESSAGE HAS GOT THROUGH. IF ANYONE FEELS THEY CAN SEND A MESSAGE THROUGH TO THEM ON MY BEHALF I'D BE ETERNALLY GRATEFUL. OF COURSE, THIS COULD BE A ME-COMPUTER PROBLEM, I JUST DON'T KNOW. WILL TRY COMMENTING LATER OR IN THE MORNING..

Update 24/24: I can no longer upload pictures and I can't get help until Saturday. In all honesty I think things could take two weeks at least to get straightened. So the plan is to go on taking blips (as I did today) and back-blip when it's possible. A big thank you to those of you who contacted the ZenDesk - but I think this is my computer, not Blip, as I'm also shut out of emails. Thank you also to the kind blipper who told me my tag for yesterday's was wrong. I have now corrected it ;)) Take care, lovely people xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.