Everyday Life

By Julez

Great Central Warehouse Library

This award-winning building was originally a goods and grain warehouse, built in 1907 as part of the expanding Grand Central Railway. Back then, goods would have arrived here via the waterway as well as by rail. There used to be a dock on the North side, in use until the early 1930's. It silted up and was filled in in 1972.

From 1967 it was a builder's merchant until they left and the building was left derelict until the university took it on in 2003. Its own in-house architects turned it into a library within a year. It contains almost 4.5 miles of bookshelves over four floors. There are IT rooms and study rooms too, as well as a four storey glass staircase and the cantilevered glass box in the thumbnail.

For the second time this week I started the day with a migraine. They are such a waste of time, though Minstrel enjoyed a sleep on my lap.

Once I felt a bit more human again I put on a wash load and got on with the decluttering. When I checked the laundry, I discovered (again for the second day in a row) that the bathroom floor was flooded. Our washer is about eight years old and has been worked pretty hard in that time, so it's probably on its last cycle....

This afternoon I thought I should go out and look for something to blip other than the shot of the wet, sudsy bathroom floor which I'd taken to send to Brian. I've always liked this building. The library is just for the students unfortunately.

When Brian came home I joined him for another walk to town. It rained this morning and is quite blowy again, but it's far from cold today!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.