gasman

By Gasman

Hunker down day

Weather absolutely dreadful today, so the best place to be was indoors. A day for reading is always welcome. I am currently reading “The Great Post Office Scandal” by Nick Wallis, which is much more in depth account that was portrayed in the excellent TV drama that has recently excited the Nation. It is particularly pertinent to me as my father was a village postmaster and I used to frequently help out and even ran the business for them to take a week’s holiday. Fortunately, that was well before the Horizon computer system was introduced and the weekly balancing of account was by way of double entry. Why anyone should believe that computers are infallible is beyond me especially the primitive versions use 25 years ago.
Fortunately, Mum and dad retired in 1990 and passed away 10 years ago, and were thus spared all of this.
Not having ventured out today I reached for the bunch of flowers I bought Sally on the weekend for my blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.