Marionb

By Marionb

Brightening Up...

Certainly not the weather..  a snowfall yes, but not the type of snow that piles up on tree branches and works so well for blips, but the grainy kind that blows in and out, leaving a dusting of white and is then followed by rain! 

The "brightening up" that was within my control was hanging a more vibrant quilt in the guest room...a room that faces north. I have two "companion" napping-size quilts that seldom get displayed but do fit a small wall space and are bright and cheery; so, it was the perfect time for them to come off the shelf - one for the wall ( extra) and one to lie on the bed awaiting nap-time..

After that, I spent a few hours (!) in my sewing room trying to bring back some order to the chaos...I tackled only two shelves and two large filing drawers but was still able to fill a large donation bag with excess sewing supplies as well as a box of quilting fabric  - a collection of reproduction 1930's fat quarters I now know I will never use. There was a time when I was interested in re-creating vintage-style quilts, but I have since moved on to more vibrant colours. Kaffe Fassett changed my sewing life! 

Being distracted the rest of the day by the Primary results in New Hampshire and an interesting new book waiting to be read, by nightfall, I ended up blip-less; hence an emergency blip.... of the quilts (it was them or the cat and Maggie was not in a posing mood....not at all! ) Alas, the lighting in the room was so dull, it did not do justice to the vibrant colours of the quilts, but, on the bright side.. heh heh.. I did end up with a posting! Whew! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.