Getting the sparkle back

By DomesticGoddess

Chiefswood Cottage, Abbotsford

By JMW Turner. This watercolour is part of the Vaughan Bequest which is exhibited annually at the Scottish National Gallery in accordance with the terms of the bequest, which are that the whole collection is to be exhibited, free of charge and in the month of January only. I liked this little picture of buildings at Abbotsford, Sir Walter Scott's home on the bank of the River Tweed in the Borders where I've walked many times. 

I hadn't been to see these paintings for a very long time, but I had some time to kill as I was (finally) getting the new battery for my phone fitted, so decided that this would be a good place to spend it - it's one room of paintings which my brain can just about cope with these days. I had thought I might walk in Princes Street Gardens and take some photos there, but they were shut because of "inclement weather", courtesy of Storm Jocelyn, which in Edinburgh wasn't much more than a rather windy day, which we are quite used to, and definitely less severe than Storm Isha at the weekend. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.