To See New Englandly

By distractedhausfrau

Circumstance and Pumps

The circumstance tonight was the 8th grade graduation. It was held indoors (read: challenging school auditorium lighting) for only the 4th time in 40 years because it's still raining.

The evening reminded me of the awkwardness of being 13- or 14-years-old. Girls going on 21, boys who look like they're still 11, and those of us who were caught somewhere in between. All seemingly bored with being 13- or 14-years-old. Tonight also reminded me that in 10 years it will be my own daughter teetering across the stage in impossibly high-heeled pumps. I'm afraid that night will come far too soon.





Thanks, blippers, for all the lovely comments on yesterday's "sucks" blip. While I was going for sharper focus and wider depth of field, the softness has grown on me. Guess my overall sucky day colored my perception and mood, but your comments really cheered me up.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.