Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

Wishing for Wissington

I heard on the grapevine that one of the railway's earliest acquisitions, a small industrial steam engine called Wissington, was due to arrive back home today after an extended period on loan to the Mid-Suffolk Light Railway.  I had no idea when it was due to arrive but as I was passing Sheringham station I called in for a look.  Sure enough, there was no sign of it or even any sign that it was expected, so I didn't hang around.  I later saw some photos posted online showing it had arrived late afternoon, at least a couple of hours after I was there.  I'll catch up with it soon, no doubt.

Instead, I took a shot of this which was at the platform.  Most people probably never notice them but they are essential for keeping all railways running.  A maintenance vehicle, used to make sure the track is in perfect working order and to lay new track when required.  Not the most glamorous item on the railway, but certainly one of the most useful.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.