CrocusMan

By TonyG

This

... is why I love raising plants from seed.  

Crocus sieberi raised from my own home produced seed quite a few years back.  The range of variation is very striking.   While commercial crocuses are increased clonally, by corm increase, seed raised plants often show a range of genetic variations.   From the high mountains in Crete where it flowers as the snow melts, it's classically white flowered with variable purple markings on the outer petals.  Here's one such from Blip of three weeks ago.   In my collection it is grown alongside closely related species from Greece and from the look of it some of these plants are hybrids, perhaps all.  They're all very beautiful :-)

A busy day.   Also another grey, wet one.   Assorted tidying and sorting jobs at home, boring but necessary and if I keep at it I'll have my house in better order eventually.   I did have a snooze on the sofa before tea and then spent almost three hours at pottery this evening.  Three embryo pieces brought home for fettling.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.