Living my dream

By Mima

A feast of health

This morning’s first produce collection: another four eggs; six apricots from beneath the tree (and there were six more this evening); the final pick of sugarsnap peas; and a bunch of parsley.

The latter two became ingredients in pea and courgette soup which I was keen to cook up early, before the blowflies came out to play. I was able to use up all the courgettes in the fridge, which was just as well because I picked five more this afternoon. It will be roast courgettes for supper. Again. With scrambled eggs.

There were ‘just’ 1.4kg of raspberries today, almost all of which have been quickly boiled in a little water and are now draining through a jam cloth, to be made into cordial / syrup in the morning. The remaining raspberries are for pudding. 

“A feast of health”, is how Dad used to describe a meal like that. He’s been in my mind a lot today: he would be beside himself with pride about what I’m achieving here. Although he died 26 years ago, he is still my guide. The special ones never leave us… And my gratitude to him is beyond words.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.