There Must Be Magic

By GirlWithACamera

Orange Leaves in Mist

It was a day of fog. The temperatures rose, the snow began to melt, and mist rose over every farm field. I half expected to hear Adrienne Barbeau on the radio, warning us to "Get inside and lock your doors. Close your windows. There's something in the fog!"

But I, personally, adore fog. It might be my favorite photo op. That or fast-falling snow. So I went out first thing in the morning, when it was foggy, with my camera. And then in mid-afternoon, I went out again when it was even WORSE. The landscape was blanketed in fog. It was as thick as the proverbial pea soup.

I walked down to Autumn Meadow Park with my husband, and left him there to jog, as I walked up Cornfield and back on Stonerow. The shot above is a scene I saw there. The woods were misty with melting snow, and I spotted a tree that had a few leaves still on it. It was a simple thing, but it seemed sort of . . . joyous, so here it is.

My soundtrack song is Led Zeppelin, with Misty Mountain Hop. And as a bonus, here's a cover by 4 Non Blondes, who nailed it, from the 1995 Led Zep tribute album Encomium, which I heartily recommend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.