There Must Be Magic

By GirlWithACamera

The Eagle Has Landed

Yes, this is an actual photograph of a local bald eagle, taken near Pennsylvania Furnace, around 2:45 in the afternoon. I believe it is one whose acquaintance I made going on about six years ago in a tiny graveyard on a hill near where I spotted it this time. The field it was in today was the one where one of my favorite trees used to stand, the beautiful old Baileyville white oak, in a spot where the misty sky kisses the good green earth.

That first time, I didn't even have my camera out of my bag, and it was gone, but I knew that it was one of the biggest birds I had ever seen in my life. On this day, I was in a car, we stopped at a stop sign, the eagle was across the road landing in a big farm field, I rolled down the window, I stuck the camera out, and I snapped off about 10 quick shots.

The first things I noticed about the bird on this day were how HUGE it was, how WHITE its head and tail were, and how awkwardly it landed. I believe it was hunting some prey in that field. Had we been a few minutes earlier, or a few minutes later, we would have missed the whole show! How very fortunate we were to be there right on time to see it. . . .

We were on our way to Pine Grove Mills, for my husband had an acupuncture treatment scheduled at 3. We'd been in Port Matilda for cheesesteaks at Lykens Market earlier in the day (decent sandwich, great price), and as I sat in the parking lot in the car waiting for my husband to bring our lunch out, I looked up into the sky and saw a bald eagle fly past, way up high. It was too fast and too far away for a shot, though I did think of it. So this, for me, was a double eagle day!

I myself was on a mission, conducting what I like to think of as the Grandma Colyer Peanut Butter Fudge Mission of Mercy. What I mean to say is that I sent some of my most recent awesome fudge creation to my big brother and little sister, via the post office in Pine Grove Mills.

"Fudge from the grave?" my husband asked. Then corrected: "Fudge from HEAVEN!" Okay, that sounds better. The postal rates have changed somehow. The insurance that used to be optional is included now, and so it costs more. The insurance on my package covers up to $100.

My husband warned me that my fudge would never make it through the mail. He said they would have special fudge detectors in their scanners, and secretly, the employees would "liberate" my packages and sit, eating fudge, in the back room. I told him I would be happy to accept $100 in compensation for such a mail fail; it seems a reasonable fee for a few pieces of fudge. "Lucky it wasn't your mother's MILLION-DOLLAR fudge," my husband said. Ba-dump-bum!

Anyway, the fudge got mailed. I walked around a cemetery. I saw some goats. But the highlight of my day was this sight above, of a beautiful bald eagle that we showed up - somehow - just at the right time to see! As we drove away, I waved my hand out the window - farewell to the bird. "Thank you," I whispered. For I finally got my photo, I just had to wait . . . success, six years later!

My soundtrack song has to be by the Eagles, and this is one I love. Linda is the one who does it best, though (aside from my friend Margie from college, who always nailed it), so here is Linda Ronstadt with Desperado. Maybe we all forget how good Linda was when she sang; maybe we need a reminder. Just one woman, accompanied by a piano. Enjoy. . . .

Bonus link: Read about Pennsylvania's "Eagle Recovery Team" efforts to reintroduce bald eagles into Pennsylvania in the 1980s. Want to know where most of our state's eagles came from? Saskatchewan! During the 7-year project, 88 Canada-born eagles were released in Pennsylvania. Haldeman Island, on the Susquehanna River, and Shohola Lake, in Pike County, state gameland 160, were the two release sites. Back in 1983, there were just 3 nesting pairs of eagles in Pennsylvania; today there are more than 300 nesting pairs! As of 2014, they are no longer listed as endangered in our state.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.