Trapped Jellyfish

A second great day diving with SQSAC. This morning we dived on a pinnacle where I saw something I've never seen before. A number of Lion's Mane jellyfish had got their stinging tentacles caught on the seabed. They seemed to be trying to swim away but were totally stuck. I'm not quite sure if the tentacles were being eaten by the brittlestars all over the rocks, or if the jellyfish had been trying to eat something on the rocks. It was very wierd wither way - none of us had ever seen anything like it before...

The afternoon dive was totally amazing too - and extremely shallow channel with a big tidal flow through it and spectacular life. A HUGE bed of Maerl, the only hard coral we really see in shallow water in the UK, with lots of beautiful seaweeds, sponges, starfish, anemones. It was a beautiful, colourful drift through a seascape like nothing I have seen before.

A lovely weekend diving, but I'm pretty tired after driving home so I think I'll get off to bed now...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.