earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

Fortaleza

We've had another chilled day, a lazy morning and evening reading, either side of a bus ride to Chipude, from where we took a short walk along more of the GR131, giving me an opportunity for a quick dash up to the top of the sacred mountain of Fortaleza.

It was very windy when we got off the bus and distinctly colder than the coast - not surprising as Chipude is at 1000m and the summit is at 1243m. Thankfully there was something of a wind shadow at the top. I feared I was going to get blown off. 

It wasn't an easy mountain to photograph. This image was actually taken from the bus on the ride back. It actually has to be one of the great bus journeys of the world. The views are spectacular. I've got to come and ride these roads, not that many do, mind you. Seen only two cyclists so far. I guess it's quite daunting territory!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.