Life through my eyes

By Amanda_T

Rant alert!

I would like to say today was better but it wasn’t. This saga is mostly for my records.  

I was awake early so sorted out clearing the downstairs as the fitters said yesterday they’s be here just after 09:00. At about 09:30 I had a call from the owner’s wife to say they were doing another job this morning and would be here at midday. I said are they still finishing the job today and she said yes. Midday came and went and another call to ask where they were. On their way. It was gone 13:00 before they arrived and much humming and ahhing followed as the plans drawn up by the business owner were wrong as they didn’t show any walls! 

The fitters then announced that they wouldn’t have time to finish today and the kitchen and sitting room weren’t going to be done. Heated conversations followed and they were making excuses that things I had clarified hadn’t been agreed so it was my fault that they hadn’t had time. They were contradicting themselves, and it will be discussed on Tuesday but I am planning to go to the shop tomorrow which they aren’t expecting. I have told them they have trashed their reputation in my eyes, and the local builder with numerous contacts who recommended them will hear the full debacle, that neither I, my neighbour or her friends would be recommending them. The plus side is that I still have only paid the 1/3 deposit so at least have some bargaining power.

The lounge is mostly tidy and I have managed to tidy a kitchen worktop so I at least have somewhere to make a sandwich. It’s been a hard few weeks, especially the last few days. I put that flooring down for Mr T and although it didn’t survive mobility equipment and ambulance stretchers it was not an easy decision to make to replace it. It feels even worse now that it’s been such a stressful experience and isn’t over yet.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.