Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Once more ...

There was nothing else for it. We had to make another trip to Glasgow. In the event, it left us both cheerful - carefree, even - in a most unusual coincidence of mood. I'll just say now that the new phones are both up and running and the old ones exchanged for enough money to make the trip more than worthwhile.

We were unbelievably early for a start. Having made up our minds that the 9.20am ferry would get us comfortably there for an appointment with a Genius in the Apple Store, we found ourselves driving straight on to the 9am, the last car before it sailed. This gave us plenty of time for a coffee in Buchanan Galleries before the appointment, thereby fortifying us to pay attention. I was able to ask all the stupid questions about chargers and cables and what I needed for the car and would the cable go into the back of my iMac, and then watch and supply the odd passcode while a chap deleted all the information from the old phone, check its state of wear and find out how much it was worth. After Himself did the same, he was introduced to a musician who was employed to teach people about the uses of software in the arts - photography and music - and the pair of them sat happily burbling away about Sibelius (it's a program for producing manuscripts, inter alia) and compatibility with keyboards and computers until it was clearly time for lunch.

And that was all, really - a mini-pizza and coffee in (another) Cafe Nero and a quick call in to John Lewis to buy candles and birthday cards and notice that one of these round/oblong glass and timber gazebos that they sell cost more than our house did when we bought it. (Extra photo). We escaped the city before the crowds and didn't hit any delays, arriving home early enough to go out for a leg stretch and look for bottled pectin (it's the marmalade season and I have history with runny marmalade). There seems to be none in Dunoon this year; a nice man working in the Co-op whom I asked about it offered to look when he was over in Greenock at the weekend, which I thought was amazing. 

My main, slightly odd photo, is of the Sikh Gurdwara and the spire of the  Tron Church along Berkeley Street, taken from the moving car as we turned from Bath Street to cross the Kingston Bridge. I wanted to see how good the zoom on the camera was - it'd have been a better photo had the lights not changed just as I took it. I like it anyway - makes a change from seascapes.

We had Himself's curries for dinner and finished a lovely bottle of Greek wine - I know, an unexpected source, but fragrant and delicious. And after a pre-midnight bedtime yesterday, I'm back to my wicked ways tonight. 

It's already tomorrow ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.