Dawn's Journal

By DawnP

Snowdrop Time

With the mostly mild weather so far this year, the snowdrops seem to be flowering a little earlier than usual. So with a bright sunny day forecast I took a trip down to Mottisfont Abbey. Another draw was an art exhibition of satirical war drawings by Heath Robinson, the master of creating complicated machines to do simple things.

The exhibition was interesting, with many drawings causing one to laugh out loud, though I suspect the gentle humour would past totally over the heads of younger viewers, especially if their knowledge of history from the two world wars was limited.

I then had a lovely walk around the gardens and along the River Test.  The promised snowdrops were in abundance, though they may need a few more days until they are fully open.  The winter garden was full of tantalising smells, though the source flowers were "hiding", hellebores and a few snowdrop clump.  As I was kneeling down to photograph a hellebore, which as usual was hanging its head, a robin landed next to me to see what I was doing (extras).

My main image is a shot across a bank of snowdrops along the riverside giving me an entry for BikerBear's Flower Friday challenge, and achieving the main objective of my visit.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.