Far Away

Today I fancied a trip into Winchester.  My main objective was to visit the local nature reserve from where Miranda1008 has been posting some wonderful images, including the elusive kingfisher.  Today wellies were a necessity and I didn't see that much activity, though was pleased with my shots of a robin and tiny long-tailed tits (extras). I will be back.

Having returned to the car to drop off the long lens and wellies, I headed into town and spent an interesting couple of hours in the cathedral, though my other objective of visiting the crypt was thwarted - it was closed :-(

I headed back to the car via the riverside walk along the old city walls, and was chatting to a girl who was interested in my camera when she spotted a bird across the river with a blue "ring".  Looking closer we realised it was a kingfisher! Oh where was my long lens now.  Still I managed to get this heavily cropped shot ... probably one of the clearest I've achieved to date.  A great end to a good day out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.