misswinterfinch

By misswinterfinch

Little Roses Do Their Best

This clump of yellow roses is a single miniature rose bush that I received two winters ago for my birthday. They look tender because they are smaller than their full-size relatives, but they live through our frigid winters better than hybrid tea roses.

This pretty flower blip takes the place of a young eggplant growing in a big pot on the sunny front deck. I looked closely at its first budding fruit which looks like a green miniature eggplant/balloon. It stuck out like 3/4 inch green bump. The timing of its early appearance is perfect because they take a long time to develop and ripen here in the north country.
I bent to take a photo of the promising little thing just as I heard a racket and saw Gracie T-t chasing her first chipmunk under the trash bin. She was being assisted by PD Budd. In all the excitement I was cheering for the chippy. We have never had one in the garden before. They are so cute. And GT-t is not capable of catching one. She loves the chase but not the capture in a hunt.

Just as I bent to take the baby eggplant's first official portrait the chipmunk escaped and raced across the deck in front of me, through the rails, across the lawn and up the big maple tree.
Gracie T-t was hot on it's heels but about 20 feet behind. Then I took a close, very close, look at the eggplant and the baby who was not there. It had been neatly nipped off by someone with tiny teeth... I no longer am cheering for Team Chipmunk!
Enjoy the yellow roses.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.