misswinterfinch

By misswinterfinch

Relief!

We are into the third day of a heatwave with temperatures usually seen in August rather than June. Every year I've declared to my neighbour that if August is as hot again I shall have to put an air conditioner in the back room which I use for watching DVDs and doing hand sewing. Looks like this is the year, since right now it is 92ºF (33ºC) outdoors. Average is 77ºF or around 24ºC
This same friend was at an 'estate sale' a month ago and bid on two window a/c and won. She gave me a choice of size. Since then it has been sitting in the garage waiting for some strong person to get it into the window. Turns out her very large grandson (16 years old) is just out of school for summer. Whilst I was sweating in front of a fan this afternoon she drove up with said grandson who wheeled it into the room, picked it up, and shoved it into the open window. It was like nothing at all. He says that he does this all the time at home. He also plays tuba in the school marching band because since the age of 12 no other student was hefty enough for the job.
And now, the inside air is cooling while I hear thunder rumbling outdoors. Next week we might return to more recognizable temperatures. In the meanwhile I shall be able to sleep at night and work inside during the day.
Good neighbours and friends... there's nothing like them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.