The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Sargasooli tower

After breakfast (pancakes, syrup, fresh pineapple and banana) Tessa and I went out to find the Sargasooli tower. We walked to Chandpole metro station and travelled one stop to Choti Champaur, then located the tower. It's 140 feet high and was built to celebrate a famous victory in battle. The views from the tower are far-ranging, and take in the Aravali hills as well as the city. Tessa took this  shot. in Extras. I'm squinting because I'm not wearing my sunglasses, but just look at the view!  I'll put the serial street view in Extras.

After this visit, we walked along metalwork street (Tripolia bazaar), which was filled with sewing machines and tin pots. Tessa wanted a particular  slice canteen but we never found it. We tried to find the Jantar Mantar (astronomy palace) but it didn't seem to be signposted. We were given wrong directions, and walked around in circles, ending up at Hawar Mahal or City Palace. At one particular gate (arch) the traffic was very concerning. We found it almost impossible to walk through because  motorbikes, scooters and cars kept pouring towards us. A policeman was directing the traffic by blowing a whistle. Roadblocks had been set up. We started to walk I. The wrong direction again, then found two rickshaws: an auto and a bicycle. The bike man offered to take us to the Jantar Mantar for 50 rupees (instantly down from 500 when we said No!) and somehow I felt that we'd be in safe hands. Tessa has asthma and was worried about the dreadful pollution, but I begged her to stay on the rickshaw for two minutes, and the men steered the bike through the traffic, got us through the roadblock by talking to an official, and rode us to our nearby destination. As we were being borne to oup chosen spot, we saw the reason for the traffic hold-ups: a diplomatic car passed right by us with its flag flying, bearing an Indian MP with his official MP's outfit on. That was surprising! I guess the UK's (Indian) PM doesn't drive his own car when on official business, but in the UK we seem to prefer our MPs to ride bicycles or use cheap alternatives to, say, helicopters. Incidentally, the bike driver kept telling us that bicycle rickshaws were 'Indian helicopters'. I must look that up. I keep getting offered helicopters!

At the observatory, the ticket queue was very long, so Tessa and I decided not to bother with it (no one had told us there was a separate queue for foreigners !) We found an absolutely delightful boutique/exporters, so decided to go upstairs and take a look. We were in need of a break from the constsnt noise and pollution. It was cool, and we were treated like royalty. The shop was very well laid out with different departments in separate rooms. We did a bit of trying on, measuring and spending, texting others to see if they wanted to pop over, then walked back to the metro and thence to our hotel.  

I'd intended to order peanut masala for lunch. But I thought I'd try the Rajasthani gram flour dumplings in a curried curd gravy instead. Tomorrow I won't have that option. The gravy was delicious! Dumplings were a little too dense for me, but it was a satisfying meal. I'd been so hungry I developed a hunger headache and had to run upstairs for a snack while my meal was was being cooked!

Didn't go for a swim in the pool, though it looked tempting, because I thought the dumplings might make me sink! I do get cramp here. I went and packed instead, and watched some Disney films ( strange but true) while I sorted my stuff out. 

Some others returned from their travels so we said hello over drinks, then retired. I'm pleased that I've started a trend for using the Metro. It is very cheap: 6 rupees ( six pence ) between stops on a short journey, with the maximum fare on the line being 22 rupees. It is also almost empty. It will be fabulous when the second line is completed. 

At 6pm we had a meet-up in the lounge for a quiz and a review of the holiday. I finished my bottle of wine and did quite well, though there was no scoring. Then we had dinner. There was ground rice pudding with almonds and cardamom: finally a pudding I could eat! It was delicious. We all retired early, because sadly er have to be up and off to Jaipur airport by 4.30 am. From Mumbai we catch our connecting flights home. 
This is the last night I'll lie in bed in Jaipur and hear announcements over a tannoy, or fireworks going off at all hours of the night. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.