Sunbathing

At lunchtime, Eliz and I spotted a blackbird sunbathing in Embankment Gardens. Eliz thought he was dead, but then he shifted out his wing more to soak up the sun. On our return to the office, we saw a pigeon in the same position. It was mightily sunny today and I would have done the same if had been enough space on the grass to stretch out - as it was, I couldn't see the grass for the people.

After work, I walked through the gardens again and spotted the blackbird flat out with beak open to the air (I wonder if that's his chimney to let out the gathering heat from within!) It's possibly the same blackbird as the one I saw at lunchtime. He obviously has a cache of worms and doesn't need to work today.

I met Fred and his friends Rob and Anna at the Royal Festival Hall and drank and chatted the evening away. The place was busy with people drinking in the sun.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.