Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Nap Attack

In between bursts of unbridled enthusiasm, Jax is really a pretty mellow dog and enjoys spending a good amount of the day napping. Feet and whiskers twitching, small snuffles and growls and occasional yips accompany canine dreams. A gentle hand to the flank or head elicits sigh. What a life.

The sun was out for a while so we went for a walk which was nice. I’m planning chili for dinner tonight - I have a recipe that incorporates soy, fish sauce, and dark cocoa powder. Sounds like a bizarre combo but these ingredients (along with the traditional chopped meat, tomatoes, onions and kidney beans) make a complex and flavorful taste. And it all gets done in the electric pressure cooker so it’s relatively fast.

I started my 7th book of the year last night. It’s called “The Paris Library” and takes place in the 1930/40’s and modern day. I’m not sure yet if I like it as well as some of the other books I’ve read from that period, but it’s good enough to continue reading. I usually read mysteries and thrillers but have recently been binging historical novels. My favorite read this year has been “The Traitor’s Wife” which is set in the 1300’s and focuses on the reigns of Kind Edward I and II. Somewhat gruesome in places but historically accurate and very well written.

We watched “Something’s Gotta Give” with Jack Nicholson and Diane Keaton last night - a delightful romp of a movie.

Plain dark today

Xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.