Grammy

By Grammy

Genealogy Project

Hubby got up early and headed to our parish hall to help with the Knights’ annual oyster scald. I cleaned a bit inside and in my garden (since the weather was mild). Also, made cranberry orange bread. My sister came over so we could tackle a big job. Our young friend from Germany asked us to help her with a school project months ago. We were in WV at the time. In mid-January, she finally sent the 30+ questions for us to answer about our German ancestor who emigrated to the U.S around 1850. We had collected tons of info years ago. I foolishly let a family historian borrow it and we never saw it again. I’ve been doing some preliminary on line research since the questions arrived. Today, we went through all the books and papers shown in my blip and searched for hours on line but could not find much of the specific information she needs. Thankfully, our BIL in Colorado has done extensive research and he was able to assist us. We actually learned some new facts today to pass to the next generation. Now I just have to type up all our notes. Hubby and I went to 5:00 pm Mass. I was in the mood for Chinese food so we went to dinner afterwards. Hope the rest of your weekend is relaxing. Thanks for dropping by. Stay safe. “If you don't recount your family history, it will be lost. Honor your own stories and tell them too. The tales may not seem very important, but they are what binds families and makes each of us who we are.” Madeleine L'Engle

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.