Craig's Journal

By CraigD

Grey Heron

There were 9 Heron on the slope waiting for me (that included the male from the clearing). The little female (pictured) was more or less in control but the chick got a bit of a comeuppance as a number of the adult heron stood up to her. At one point I turned sharply as I heard a yelp and for a horrible moment I thought a dog had got her but it was an adult standing on her. She was none the worse for it and did get a bit more to eat before being chased back to the loch.
The male was caught out today as I spotted him leaving the slope and heading to the clearing, where he got an extra feed.
The extra is 4 heron following me to the clearing.
The crows got biscuits but were on half rations as I had run out of biscuits!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.