stujphoto

By stujphoto

Red Hot Poker

On a dreary rainy mid-summer afternoon a blip becomes a real challenge. I had three goes.

One was a landscape from the bridge over Bielwater of a field, a clump of trees and a mildly dramatic sky which I was determined to turn into a striking monochrome in Siver Efex Pro. After considerable processing this turned out moderately OK.

A far greater challenge was to capture with my compact camera the swifts which were flying over and around the river. Yes, I managed one ot two sharp shots but the swifts were miniscule in the frame.

The final challenge, which hit me just as I was turning into our gateway, was to make something of the red hot pokers growing in my neighbours border. On a grim afternoon the sheer dazzle of these flowers won hands down . As I always say I am a sucker for saturated colour !!
As one of the adverts for these flowers has it ' KNIPHOFIA - RED HOT POKER - GIVES THE WOW FACTOR & LONG FLOWERING '

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.