WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Multitasking

Florence plays the piano and conducts while simultaneously singing the solo in Brahms' Alto Rhapsody. She is multi-talented!

A weekend of choir rehearsal. I was a bit concerned yesterday about traffic problems given continuing angry farmers, so I set off early and avoided the autoroute. But the roads were almost deserted (and the autoroute in fact open). I think many people had been put off going anywhere by traffic information claiming there was a roadblock outside Carcassonne (nope).

Now back from hours of bombastic German singing. I missed choir so much after two years away that I had to sign up this year even though the programme left a lot to be desired. Normally I would like singing Mendelssohn, Brahms, and Schubert, but Franz was definitely having an off day when he wrote Mirjams Siegesgesang, all eighteen minutes of it. There is a bright spot in Mendelssohn's Hör Mein Bitten as it is in fact O for the Wings of a Dove.

Unusually for a choir weekend, it was horrible weather today. Drove back in the rain, got the fire lit the minute I got in, to Mystère's relief.

Edit: ha, see last year's photo!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.