MarilynParker

By MarilynParker

Emergency blip

No rain. Got the washing done and pegged out. There was a wind but the wind felt like it was coming from the Arctic and the washing didn't dry much. Finished it off on hangers and rads.
Have almost finished the geocache page for my Virtual Reward cache and tomorrow I am planning to go to the site, take photos and obtain coordinates. Once I've uploaded these it will be ready to send to the reviewer.
I've decided to pop a traditional cache in further along the road from the virtual and I've started the cache page for that. I'll take the container with me tomorrow, place it, take some photos nearby and obtain coordinates. I will send both the virtual and this one off for review together.
The forecast is for heavy rain tomorrow so I am preparing to get wet! I'll take a brolly if it's not too windy and wear my waterproof, walking coat. I seem to wear it most of the time these days.
Last night, we'd just finished watching a film and were getting ready to watch a bit of Tony Robinson (recorded on our freesat box) when all the lights started to flicker and after a minute or so of this everything went off! Our doorbell was ringing constantly and lots of alarms were going off nearby. Terry unplugged our doorbell which shut it up. It's surprising how dark it is outside when everything goes off and it reminded me of the 1970s but we were very well-prepared for power cuts then and not so much now. 
However, we have plenty of good torches, lots of candles, a wind up lantern and a couple of ordinary lanterns for tealights - I grabbed the lanterns and discovered the wind up one needed a lot of winding up to get it to stay lit for a short time. Abandoned it but Terry was already in action with the torches and obtaining a very bright one from the garage. The tealight lanterns I brought in from the front porch and the lanterns had tealights in them which had melted in the hot weather (yes, we do get some occasionally) and needed digging out - not something we felt like tackling at the late hour or in semi-darkness. 
I poured another wine and Terry drank beer while we chatted and wondered how long the power cut might last.
We were just setting off to bed when the power returned.
I've fixed the tealight lanterns today in case of any more power cuts and I'm keeping the lanterns in our utility room so no excessive heat to melt the tealights.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.