antipodean

By antipodean

Bird on a wire

I've walked past this artwork a million times and I always glance at it and enjoy it but I just keep walking. I decided it was time to document it.

Today was a productivity day. I made two appointments and had a really good session at the gym this morning, came home for lunch, showered and very speedily straightened my hair before hurrying into the city for a group interview to become a volunteer at the Melbourne International Film Festival. One of the best things I did at Warwick was volunteer at the Arts Centre, mainly in the cinema, so I applied to volunteer at MIFF a few weeks ago. I saw two films at MIFF last year and loved the experience so I'm hoping I get to volunteer. At any rate, we got a free ticket at the end of the interview so I'll see at least one film!

The interview was fun - just chatting about film, something I could do all day - and as always at these things, I loved all the different people at the interview. We had some real characters, and they all seemed like really cool people. The curse of being a sociologist is I am intensely curious about people so I love being in a group of strangers and seeing personalities mix.

I'm quite pleased with this photo, more because of what it represents than because it's good technically. There's an underpass in the city that goes under Flinders St to the station, and I use it to get out of the station 99% of the time - it leads up to the beginning of a series of connecting lane ways and arcades that run through the city, and I use them to get around more than I use the main streets. Anyway, the underpass has a rotating exhibition of artwork - paintings, models, displays - and I love seeing what ends up in there every few weeks. I can't believe it took me this long to photograph it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.