Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

GOING, GOING, GONE!

I know the I share with at least one other Blip friend the fact that tulips look even more wonderful when they are past their prime!

After a lovely morning having coffee with a friend, when I got home and looked at the tulips that Mr. HCB bought me, by proxy, a couple of weeks ago, I knew that if I didn’t soon blip them, they would be gone forever but they deserve their few minutes of fame on here.

So after a bit of faffing and even more fartnarkling, here they are at the “Going, Going and Gone” stage.  

I often muse when I see things like this and wonder if that’s how we are seen as we get older and supposedly “past it”?  Well, in the world’s eyes anyway.  Often people say, “As I get older, I feel I begin to become invisible.”  I’m not sure I will let that happen!

It also reminded me of certain lines from “The Seven Ages of Man” spoken by Jacques in William Shakespeare’s play, “As You Like It” in Act 2, Scene 7:

THE SEVEN AGES OF MAN
All the world's a stage,
     And all the men and women merely players;
They have their exits and their entrances,
     And one man in his time plays many parts,
His acts being seven ages...

... Last scene of all,
That ends this strange eventful history,
     Is second childishness and mere oblivion,
Sans teeth, sans eyes, sans taste, sans everything.
(Jaques, Act 2 Scene 7)

However, I am with Rosalind from the same play, who says in Act 3, Scene 2:

“Do you not know I am a woman? 
     When I think, I must speak.”

Have a great day and live every one to the full - I intend to and when I’m gone, I hope people will remember that I did!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.