HAPPY SUNDAY!

We had a great service at Church this morning, with some good worship songs and a fantastic sermon from Jide, one of the Ministers from Romford Baptist Church.  

We were there early, as I was leading and I do like to get sorted out before the service;  I had already had a message from a member of the Worship Group yesterday to say that he had Covid and wouldn’t be there and then this morning, I had another message to say the drummer had flu, so he wouldn’t be there either, so it was with some trepidation that I hoped the remaining two plus me would be OK - and we were!  

By 10.20 a.m. the speaker hadn’t arrived, but I was confident that he would be there before 10.30 and just in case, he wasn’t, I had checked with someone and was told that the Duty Deacon preached if the speaker did not arrive - that was a relief and good to know that the person leading the service wasn’t expected to preach too!   I then spoke to Julie, the Duty Deacon, so that she would be prepared if she needed to preach and she said that being the case, it would be a very short sermon!  

A couple of minutes later, Jide, a visiting Minister from Romford, arrived and I told him that I was really pleased to SEE him - not meet him - but to actually SEE him!  Interestingly, he spoke about Moses and the burning bush, when Moses said “I will go over and see this strange sight - why the bush does not burn up” and God saying in Isaiah “Forget the former things; do not dwell on the past. See, I am doing a new thing...I am making a way in the wilderness.”   

Amazing, or is it (?) how God uses people to push home a point - I was challenged myself NOT to remember things that were in the past and to move forward but in the knowledge that God is always there as the great “I AM”.   Definitely food for thought over the next few days as I go about my daily life.  We also learned a new song, which Jide had chosen and fitted in well with the theme of the service.

The photograph is another of the banners in Church, which I don’t think I have shown before and also a banner that sits in the quiet corner at the back of the Church.  Hope you all have a great week and will see God at work.

“One of the most powerful, though difficult, 
     lessons we all need to learn 
          on our spiritual pilgrimage is 
               that even when bad things happen 
and we do not understand why, 
     we can trust God to be present 
          and working on our behalf.”
Henry Cloud

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.