carliewired

By carliewired

75 F/ 24 C

There were so many
temptations here so I just
could not stay for long!

~carliewired

I was on my way to the Peanut Patch this morning at 9 AM. It's been many years since I have been to that business.

The Peanut Patch had its beginnings during WWII when Gerry and Franny Didier began homesteading on the Yuma Mesa. Gerry began experimenting with crops that would do best in the sandy soil. He found that peanuts were an excellent crop. Over time the ownership of the Peanut Patch has changed but has continued to deliver peanut products and many other fine quality food items and gifts. 

It was a treat to walk around the shop. As I stepped inside the door I could smell the fudge being made and I was greeted warmly by the owner. I was amazed at how many items like salsa, jelly, pickles, etc., all produced locally, filled the shelves. I enjoyed my wander through the gift items. The cigar store Indian and Cowboy were an attractive nod to the past. Of course, I had to go home with peanut butter, my favourite. 

I'm home again with my quilt project well underway.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.