Keith B

By keibr

Snowshoes, sauerkraut, baking, Mexican train

The title tells the story of the day. First some snowshoeing, including treading out a new path up to the top of our nearest hill. Alongside Jude are the tracks of an elk which walked this way a while ago. Earlier we had seen some elegant tracks, laid out in a straight line, back foot landing where the front foot had been, and too large for a fox, which also walks like this. Just pads, no claws; could it have been a lynx? That is definitely a possibility.
Once home Jude and I made some sauerkraut, so she could see, and feel, how it all worked.
Jan and Jude headed off to Betty's to do some printing while Dave and I prepared dinner. A simple job tonight because we are eating food left over from previous days.
I decided to bake some fresh bread and went for a particularly Swedish loaf using rågsikt flour, a mix of rye and wheat (40/60%). I was using commercial yeast to speed things up, which it did. However, it was not my best bread, having over-developed and collapsed a bit just as it went into the oven. I'm sure we will eat it however!
As I was finishing off the baking we played Mexican Train, finally ending the game we started three evenings ago!
Another day of fun and activity with the visitors!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.