Travels With 4 Wheel Fred

By HRGibbon

"Death by 1000 midge bites"

Also Known As the "DMACK Carlisle Stages 2013"

I have never known quite so many vicious midges as today. When it rained and there was a bit of a breeze it was safe. As soon as the sun came out, and/or the wind dropped they came out in their millions! They were everywhere on me! Even with midge repellent I got bitten! At one point I ended up sat, with the hood of my waterproofs pulled over my head and down as far as it'd go and my scarf thing pulled up over my face. It was hard to breath and not very comfortable, but at least the little beggars had difficulty getting in!

Duty called though. Today we had 8 Spadeadam members competing, including these two... Tapio Laukkanen (Finnish Rally Champion 1996, British Rally Champion 1999) & Glenn Patterson (WRC level Co-driver). It's nice to see the SMC stickers on the #1 car. :)

It was also a Spadeadam member that took overall victory on the event, Peter Taylor, in his Ford Focus WRC. Pics of our other members can be found here.

We were also marshalling in the forests & service area. We do get around a bit!

I know it's daft and probably a little over emotional, but this weekend made me soo proud to be a Spadeadam Motor Club member.

The best motor club in the universe.... probably. ;)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.