Travels With 4 Wheel Fred

By HRGibbon

Sunny Service For The DMACK Carlisle Stages

Spent an enjoyable afternoon telling people where to go... as in where they could park their trailers, vans, etc, where scrutineering was and which way they needed to go on the "one way system". There were only 2 of us marshalling, so it made for the odd busy moment when 3 or 4 vehicles turned up at the same time. Otherwise, it was quite a nice, chilled way to spend a Friday afternoon.*

Than it was a case of dashing home, showering (it was pretty dusty in that yard) and heading back down to catch my lift for our girly meal out. We went to a pub just on the outskirts of Carlisle, and it seemed like a good third of the rally folk had decided to go there too. Had a lovely meal, finished off by sharing a huge bit of chocolate cake with my friend. Oh it was good!

*This afternoon was a good example of the change in me. If I'd been asked to go, on my own (without the OH) and marshal this time last year, or the year before, I'd have run away and hidden in the corner of a darkened room. Why? I don't know. Probably because I would've thought I'd do it wrong or screw up. I should think there would have been 1001 reasons why I couldn't do it. I mean, today I probably bored the other guy to death, said stuff I probably shouldn't have, and left him in little doubt what an numpty I am. But at least I went.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.