Living my dream

By Mima

Nurseryweb

This is the web of the Nurseryweb Spider, into which she lays her eggs and within the protection of which the spiderlings grow and then break out when they’re old enough. 

More here.

I remain very behind on blip, which is a reflection of how many other things are going on.

Much of the day I’ve been at the house of some friends, helping with the final packing and shifting of their belongings, along with five others. They move into a place in town tomorrow.

It has been a lesson in humility for me. I am super organised when it comes to moving house. These folk are the exact opposite. And because they’ve not done it for 32 years they have no concept of the length of time it takes to empty a kitchen, or to clear out a garage. It has all (and I mean all) been left until the last eight days. 

I had to bite my tongue repeatedly because even today the friends still couldn’t make decisions about what was going to the tip, what was going to be recycled and what was going to the new house. I was able to make a few small suggestions, but it is their move, not mine. They are doing it in their own way and my role was simply to assist, not to direct.

Having said that, at one point when they were both away from the property, two of us made a very quick executive decision to move everything from the house onto the drive so that we could all see what was remaining to be shifted. That expedited things nicely.

One of the other helpers had to leave after an hour because he was so exasperated and couldn’t keep his mouth shut any longer, so I’m patting myself on the back for sticking it out all day. But it was a relief to get home, where the to do list is growing…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.