Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Distraction

(30/1/24)

So the day arrived. I have to be in the office three days a week now. I confused people by being there. One even asked if it was already Tuesday morning.

It was busy as usual at the start of a new week. Lunchtime came around eventually. I should have asked my boss what time lunch was. It's usually a 12:30 or 1 PM start for most people. My boss opted for 2:30. Hmmm.

We ended up at the Costa outlet downstairs. Thankfully, my line manager was there too. So, what I had guessed is what happened. Rather than it being a reconciliatory and build-up meeting, it was a continuation of Wednesday! Unbelievable. I kept my cool and even managed to answer questions when we finally changed the subject to talk about actual work. I was glad to be back at my desk and be collected by G at 5:15.

I needed a distraction, so we ended up in Dubai Mall. G mentioned she was hungry as she hadn't eaten her lunch. Argh. I'd only eaten a couple of hours earlier! We tried a cafe near the Aquarium - a restaurant I've wanted to eat at for the longest time. Today was the day, and it turned out as good as it looked. Delicious food and good service - a rare thing in this city!

We walked the long way around back to the car and passed the Waterfalls. I love this view. Another thing I've wanted to do for the longest time but haven't yet is have a cup of coffee in the TWG Cafe on the right. It looks lovely!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.