Groggster

By Groggster

A Lion Of Questioning

Today's shot was supposed to be an image of the moon, it was looking particularly resplendent as the late afternoon light was just starting to fade - apparently today it's in a lunar phase called Waxing Gibbous where it appears larger as it transcends between a half moon and a full moon. I took quite a few shots but none that I was that happy with.
So I decided to look for a different subject and settled on capturing an image of one the stone lions - in fact they are a lion and lioness with a cub on her back - at the entrance to the nearby Preston Hall (a former manorial home that has been converted into housing). I have captured each of them for blip several times but I always seem to see something different in them on each occasion.
Just as I was crouching down to get this shot a woman, who appeared to be one of the residents of the Hall, appeared at my shoulder and asked me what I was taking a photograph for. I'm always slightly wary when somebody approaches me when I'm taking a shot as I've had some unpleasant experiences of people being rude or aggressive (particularly security guards at shopping centres if I'm taking a shot of a shop window - although they don't seem to apply the same behaviour towards people taking pictures with their phones just yards away!). I explained I just really enjoy taking photographs around my local area. Thankfully she was only curious and seemed genuinely interested in what I was doing and we proceeded to have a lovely, if rather random, chat about her joy of quilting, how she hoped the lions would not disappear again (they were stolen a few years ago before being found mercifully unharmed in a lock-up garage a few miles away) and her brother-in-law's vintage cameras!
I did actually also manage to get the moon into my shot too - you can just about spot it above the lion's left ear! :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.