A Day In The Life

By Irish59

On Tap

Here’s an inside view of our favorite watering hole, located on main street in Hallowell • Before my eyes were even open MrsP announced “Let’s go out for breakfast!” We were seated in our favorite diner with coffee cups in hand in less than an hour. Impressive! The car needed new wipers, the deer needed nuggets and we were lacking one small birthday gift for a box we mailed this afternoon • Once all was done we stopped at the river to take in the sights and catch our breath. A grand old eagle was in view across the river, but then I noticed an unusual amount of bird activity behind us. My curiosity got the best of me so we rushed home for the camera and binoculars. Nothing had changed when we returned, and what a surprise! A mixed flock of robins, starlings and waxwings swarmed a berry tree next to the parking lot at the boat landing • Cedar Waxwings?!? In January?!? • A few days ago I was shocked over robins! Normally waxwings don’t appear until May or June. Shocking, yet delightful, as they’re my favorite bird • The photos I took were rubbish so we’ll check on them tomorrow with my longer lens • Waxwings deserve to be celebrated so a drink and munchies were called for at our favorite pub :) • Peace & Love

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.