KatesGardenPDX

By KatesGardenPDX

Home!

It was a somewhat harrowing travel day yesterday - I mentioned that my flight from Merida, Mexico to Miami was delayed by two hours. It finally departed and I arrived in Miami at 7:15 pm and my connecting flight was scheduled to leave at 8:30 pm. And I had to go through customs and immigration. First we walked for at least 10 minutes to get to immigration. Thank goodness I have Global Entry, which allows me to skip the lines in immigration - so I jetted through that thinking that all was well. Until I waited and waited for my baggage which took 15 precious minutes. I stood in line for customs and was finally waved through since there were hundreds of people waiting. I put my bag back on the conveyer for the plane and then waited in a HUGE line for security to get back into the main airport. I told the attendant that my plane was leaving in 30 minutes and she scooted me through to a much shorter line. Time ticking, I asked the passengers in front of me if I could cut because my plane was now leaving in 25 minutes. Then I ran. I was the last person to board the plane at 8:15. And then we waited a half an hour because the ground crew had a shift change and had disappeared! Suffice it to say that I will never fly internationally through Miami again. Landed about 12:15 am and got home by 1 am. What a way to end a really lovely time in Mexico. 

This sunset is technically from last night on the plane. But I passed through so many time zones back and forth between Mexico, Miami and Portland that I think it must have been today when I took the photo :-) 

Thanks so much for all of your lovely comments, hearts and stars on the blips I posted about my adventure. It was really delightful to share with you all! 

It's wonderful to be home - the kitties are very happy to see me. The weather is warm today - almost 60 degrees. It feels like spring, but I won't be fooled!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.