Arrived!

This blip is for my friend Helle. When we travel to England together, we always stop here to let the dogs out of the car after the long night on the ferry. The dogs have to stay in the car during the crossing, so we are keen to get them out as soon as we reach land and this Morrisons is very close to the harbour. We always stop here and we always take a picture of the dogs with the shop in the background.

So Helle... here we are. We miss you!

Travelling here turned out to be a nightmare (see my back blip from yesterday) and today we had more bad news. The ferry may still not sail next week, when I am going home, so my home journey could also include a 12 hour drive through half of Europe. I think if I had known this yesterday at midnight, when I decided to travel despite of the cancellation, then I would probably have stayed home, but now I am here, so I am going to enjoy it : -)

Apparently the ferry hit ground due to bad weather and now has a hole in it, which needs to be fixed before it can sail again. It looks like (from info on Facebook) that is is on it's way to Germany to be repaired.

I have booked a ferry from Harwich to Hock of Holland for next week - just to be sure I can get home. If I don't need it, I can cancel. Fingers crossed that I won't need it!

Anyway, I arrived to Harwich at 6.30 this morning. I walked the dogs around Morrisons and then started the 350 km drive to my friend Kath's house. She was out, when I arrived, but her husband David was there to greet me. Kath came 5 mins later and spent about half an hour telling me off for not keeping in touch as she had been very worried and did not know if I was coming or not...????

I had texted her all day yesterday and this morning, letting her know where I was and how we were doing, but neither of the texts had reached her phone!

All she had had was an email from the night between Saturday and Sunday saying that the ferry was cancelled and maybe I could go to Holland and sail from there. Whoops! I did wonder about the worried texts (which reached me ok), but thought she was just being impatient.

I am sitting in Kath's garden with my dogs - enjoying sunny England. I think it will be an early night - I am feeling exhausted and the boys look very tired too.

I have met my friend Karen and her new puppy Midge (sorry, no pictures yet) and I have had a small training session with the boys, just to burn some energy after 30 hours in the car.

See you tomorrow!
Emmy and the Hazyland Boys

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.