Here and Now

By Mole

Catching up on Dad's History

Last night my brother and I asked each other a historical family question.  As it turns out, both were about our father.  After we spoke, I sent him an e-mail with some information.  This morning at 7:30 a.m. I found the above photo in a text from him.  We often work on researching a variety of things together, even though we live hundreds of miles apart.

I never heard my dad speak about his time in the army.  My brother said that Dad found the aftermath of The Bomb horrific, especially the impact on the Japanese people.  He didn't go into any other details.

I've done some research online and ordered some books so I can learn more about what his time in Japan was like. 

"After the surrender, the 11th Airborne Division remained in Japan as  "Angels of Democracy" to help their former enemies rebuild and their efforts and examples have been recognized as a guiding influence that helped Japan become the powerful country that we know today."  
----- Down From Heaven:  The 11th Airborne Division in World War II, Volume 2, Luzon Campaign and the Occupation of Japan.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.