Texas Life

By txlife

Big Brother is Watching

These observation platforms, which can be staffed or can operate stationary or remote-controllable cameras, are becoming more prolific throughout the US. I think there is probably a place for them, but like anything else, can be overdone or abused.

I also question the efficacy of some of their uses. This one, for instance, in McAllen, Texas, was positioned in the parking lot on one side of a shopping mall. I suspect while it was thus deployed that there were no car thefts or burglaries on that side of the mall. I suspect that if a crook came to the mall to commit a crime, he or she would probably just hie thee to the other side of the mall. I suppose reducing crime on 25% of the mall's property is better than not at all...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.