Living my dream

By Mima

There are bunnies down there

Bean took me for a lovely walk on Cape Wanbrow at lunchtime. She spotted two rabbits and gave good chase through the trees. One very happy dog. She was also one very thirsty dog when we reached the car again, where she emptied a bowl and a half of water.

I was in town to have a proper dental check up (which I didn’t get two weeks ago when I was at the dentist for the phantom toothache - which hasn’t reappeared). Nick the dentist chatted away while he x-rayed, poked, prodded, scraped, cleaned and polished my teeth. I grunted in reply periodically. There were no issues at all which was delightful news.

As I left, the receptionist told me I’d receive an email in 12 months’ time for the next check up, to which I responded I would like an email in 24 months’ time please, because I can’t afford $204 every year (a price I’m sure will have increased by February 2025). Sorted.

Bean had a potter around the lovely blipping Macdubs’ garden while I set MrsMacdub on track to prune their enormous blackcurrant bush - in exchange for a delicious cup of coffee (the best in Oamaru).

Back home it’s been a day of watering veg beds, and grass control. Just before knock-off at 5 o’clock I finished line-trimming beneath the three remaining laden apricot trees and all of the plum trees. Basically that’s almost all the lower orchard. It was a big task which I’m very happy to have completed in the day. It will make finding windfalls a whole lot easier for both human and dog.

The very last job outdoors was to pick 900g of raspberries: a huge bowl of which I’m eating as I blip. I wish I could convey the taste to you. They are as delicious as that first bowl was seven weeks ago. I should have put a photo in extras. But I guzzled them too fast…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.